Dec 28, 2021

College of the Ozarks students receive awards from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for 2020

POINT LOOKOUT, MO. — The College of the Ozarks student-produced newscast, “The Point,” received awards from the Mid-America Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) in its college media competition for work produced during 2020.

Erin Hayes, professor of the practice of journalism and media, is the advisor for “The Point.”

"It is so encouraging to see our talented, hard-working, ethical student journalists honored by professionals in the news industry,” Hayes said. “The vocation of journalism needs an infusion of truth-seekers and objective truth-tellers, and these wonderful students are ready to join those ranks and lead by example. They give me hope for the future of journalism."

News Report-Light News 

Karsten Armstrong junior history major from Worthington, Minnesota, and Alexander Olsen, junior culinary arts major from Florissant, Missouri, were the Winners in this category for “Game Stop.”  

Nate Hankins senior journalism major from Jackson, Missouri and Lizzie Miller, 2020 journalism graduate from Millington, Tennessee received Honorable Mention for “Christmas Truce.” 

Multimedia Journalist  

Savannah Hampton, 2020 journalism graduate from Allendale, Michigan, received an Honorable Mention for “Dairy Champions.” 

Non-Fiction-Short Form  

Verve Reposar, junior video production major from Walnut Shade, Missouri, and Karsten Armstrong received Honorable Mention for “In Memory of Dr. Keeter.”  

Magazine Program  

Avery Reed, senior journalism major from Belleville, Illinois, Lizzie Miller, and Karsten Armstrong were Winners in this category for “Christmas Special.” 


Avery Reed received an Honorable Mention in the Talent category. 


The photojournalists of “The Point” were the Winners in the Photography category. Fourteen students were apart of the award-winning team: Karsten Armstrong, Aric Avey, Sarah Best, Madison Botta, Matthew Clark, Bethany French, Anna Ginnings, Nate Hankins, Nathan Jeffries, Jaden Lester, Alexander Olson, Avery Reed, Verve Reposar, and Abby Riffel.  


Verve Reposar was the Winner in the Editor category. 


Verve Reposar was the Winner in the Writer category. 

Walter Cronkite Scholarship

In addition to the Student Production Awards, Mid-America NATAS recognizes the work of outstanding media students through the prestigious Walter Cronkite Scholarship program. 

This year, five students from the five-state region were awarded a Walter Cronkite Scholarship.

Two of those students are from College of the Ozarks: Avery Reed and Verve Resposar.

College of the Ozarks students receive Society of Professional Journalists Region 7 Mark of Excellence Awards

Students of “The Point” also received Society of Journalists Region 7 Mark of Excellence Awards for work produced during 2020.

Television Feature Reporting
Winner: “Tony Melendez” - by Ethan Harrison, video production graduate, from Mountain Grove, Missouri; Nate Hankins; Verve Reposar; and Jackson Bliss, junior video production major from Branson, Missouri.

Broadcast Feature Videography
Winner: “Virtual homecoming” - by Verve Reposar; former student Olivia Best from Berryville, Arkansas; Sarah Best senior journalism major from Berryville, Arkansas; and Nathaniel Jeffries.

About the Mid-America Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS)

The Mid-America Chapter of NATAS works to encourage excellence in the television community by providing and developing leadership, by building community in television through camaraderie, and by providing networking opportunities, education, and resources. Mid-America NATAS is the gatekeeper of the prestigious regional EMMY® Awards. Mid-America represents the most experienced and talented television professionals from all disciplines of the industry.   The Mid-America NATAS Student Production Awards honor excellent work from media students in a five-state region (Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas and Louisiana). 

About the Society of Professional Journalists Region 7 Mark of Excellence Awards

The Society of Professional Journalists recognizes the best collegiate journalism in Region 7 with 2020 Mark of Excellence Awards winners.  SPJ’s Region 7 comprises Iowa, Kansa, Missouri and Nebraska. 

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

More about “The Point”

“The Point” Broadcast Newsroom was established in 2015. It is a College of the Ozarks workstation, and its students produce weekly newscasts and sportscasts covering stories of significance to the C of O community. “The Point” students were also honored with awards from the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association and the Society of Professional Journalists earlier this year. For more information, visit

Hayes is an award-winning journalist and former ABC news correspondent. In 2017, she was inducted into The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Silver Circle. She is a four-time recipient of the prestigious Edward R. Murrow Award and a winner of the National Sigma Delta Chi Award for Investigative Reporting. She received the National Investigative Reporters and Editors Award, three Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia Awards, and was recognized for her work during ABC News’ coverage of 9/11.