Mar 02, 2022

College of the Ozarks to host pianist and composer Matthew Bengtson March 7

POINT LOOKOUT, MO. — On Monday, March 7, guest pianist Matthew Bengtson will perform in the Newman Recital Hall, located in the Gittinger Music Center at College of the Ozarks at 7:30 p.m. as part of the College of the Ozarks Guest Artist Series.

The concert is free and open to the public. Seating is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis.


  • Piano Sonata no. 2, George Walker
  1. Adagio non troppo
  2. Presto
  3. Adagio
  4. Allegretto tranquillo
  • Preludes (selections), Claude Debussy
  1. Brouillards
  2. Les sons et les parfums tourent dans l’air du soir
  3. La serenade interrompue
  4. Feux d’artifice
  • Patterns, Luke Carlson
  1. Little Green Zigzags
  2. Roundel in Red
  3. Black Arabesques


  • Meditation (Glocken), Ingrid Arauco
  • Csárdás ostinée S. 225 no. 2, Franz Liszt
  • Nocturne no. 12 in E minor, op. 107, Gabriel Fauré
  • 12 Estudios rítmicos y sonoros (2017), Roberto Sierra

More about Bengtson

An accomplished artist, Bengtson ranges with great depth in many musical talents. He provides a diverse repertoire of music, varying from historical classics such as William Byrd to contemporary compositions. He is affluent in writing, composing, and performing pieces of art as displayed in the recital.

Bengtson has performed globally as a soloist and collaborator on European stages in France, Germany, Italy, Poland, and Hungary. He has also performed in Mexico, Washington, DC, at Monticello, and in solo recitals at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall. He is attributed as a convincing advocate for the music of Scriabin and Szymanowski, touring in 2015 with the complete Scriabin Piano Sonatas. Bengtson also recorded the 3-CD solo piano and violin/piano duo music of the great Polish composer Szymanowski. Bengtson studied piano performance at Harvard as an undergraduate, and he earned his MM and DMA degrees in piano performance at the Peabody Conservatory of Music. Mr. Bengtson incorporates a historical performance practice by playing on instruments used in the era of the composer.